top of page

Personal Mastery

Peter Senge identified five learning disciplines that he believed were at the core of leadership in learning organizations. They are:

  1. Personal mastery

  2. Mental models

  3. Shared vision

  4. Team learning

  5. Systems thinking

What is Personal Mastery?

Five learning disciplines by Peter Senge

Personal mastery refers to successfully and consistently working toward our own goals to become as efficient and effective as possible. This is one of those aspects of life that is really about the journey we are on, rather than the destination, since we don’t stop learning or pursuing once we reach our goals. As part of the lifelong learning process, we set new goals and keep going. We also recognize that in order to help grow the organizations that we work with, we must also learn and grow ourselves, and become better at what we do.

The term “mastery” refers to full command or understanding of a subject. Personal mastery, then, means that we have a great deal of understanding of what our own strengths are, as well as where we want to go.

If you are responsible for also leading people in the workplace, it is important to model our own commitment to seeking personal mastery. That means that we must demonstrate our commitment to learning and to setting goals and achieving them. This approach can also help you to support your staff in identifying their own vision, overcoming gaps in knowledge and performance, and finding a way to achieve their objectives.

If you would like more information regarding the programs and services that we provide related to this topic, please contact us at 610.454.1557 or email

10 views0 comments


bottom of page